Philophloeus luculentus, photographed by Stephen Thorpe.

Belongs within: Pericalina.

Philophloeus is an Australian genus of ground beetles with a long penultimate joint to the palpi, setulose-punctate interstices on the elytra, and simple, dorsally setulose tarsi with two or three joints in the males ventrally squamose.

Philophloeus Chaudoir 1844 [=Gomelina Blanchard 1853; incl. Idius Chaudoir 1869] LM87
    |–*P. australis (Dejean 1826) [=Cymindis australis, *Gomelina australis] LM87
    |–P. angulatus Chaudoir 1869 LM87
    |–P. australasiae Chaudoir 1869 LM87
    |–P. bivittatus Sloane 1920 LM87
    |–P. brunnipennis Macleay 1871 LM87
    |–P. confertus Blackburn 1892 LM87
    |–P. discorufus Sloane 1898 LM87
    |–P. distinguendus Chaudoir 1869 LM87
    |–P. eucalypti Germar 1848 [incl. P. grandiceps Chaudoir 1869, P. eucalypti tasmaniae Blackburn 1892] LM87
    |–P. fuscipennis Germar 1848 LM87
    |–P. immaculatus Chaudoir 1869 LM87
    |–P. intermedius Chaudoir 1869 LM87
    |–P. laticollis Blackburn 1892 LM87
    |–P. luculentus (Newman 1842) [=Lebia luculenta; incl. P. luculentus guttifera Sloane 1911] LM87
    |–P. maculatus Macleay 1871 LM87
    |–P. moestus (Chaudoir 1869) [=*Idius moestus] LM87
    |–P. monticola Blackburn 1892 LM87
    |–P. myrmecophilus Lea 1912 LM87
    |–P. obtusus Chaudoir 1869 LM87
    |–P. occidentalis Blackburn 1890 LM87
    |–P. opaciceps Blackburn 1890 LM87
    |–P. ornatus Blackburn 1892 [incl. P. truncatus Sloane 1898] LM87
    |–P. planus (Newman 1840) [=Lebia plana] LM87
    |–P. puberulus Chaudoir 1869 LM87
    |–P. pygmaeus Blackburn 1892 LM87
    |–P. quadripennis Chaudoir 1869 LM87
    |–P. rectangulus Chaudoir 1869 LM87
    |–P. simsoni Sloane 1920 LM87
    |–P. sydneyensis Blackburn 1892 LM87
    |–P. unicolor Chaudoir 1869 LM87
    `–P. vittatus Macleay 1871 LM87

*Type species of generic name indicated


[LM87] Lawrence, J. F., B. P. Moore, J. E. Pyke & T. A. Weir. 1987. Zoological Catalogue of Australia vol. 4. Coleoptera: Archostemata, Myxophaga and Adephaga. Australian Government Publishing Service: Canberra.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *